Why you should join Public Allies

8 Jun

This is one in a series of Ally Snapshot blog posts on the theme, “Why Public Allies?” If you are thinking of service work, please read on. If you know someone who might be interested, please share!

You’ve heard about Public Allies, you’ve read the blog, checked out the website, googled around… and you’ve ended up here. I’m glad that you did because after being part of Public Allies Maryland for the past two years I will tell you exactly why you should join this truly wonderful and life changing program.

Before I answer your question “Why should I join Public Allies?” I want you to ask yourself the following questions:

  1. Do I want to make a difference in my community?
  2. Do I see a need in my community and want to help even though I may not be sure exactly how to do it?
  3. Am I interested in learning more about the nonprofit sector and how I can build a career while making a difference?

If you answered yes to even one of these questions, you’re ready for service work. Why should you pick Public Allies over any other AmeriCorps or service program? What makes it so great? What sets Public Allies apart? Why should you join Public Allies?

The 5 Reasons You Should Join Public Allies

  1. Public Allies believes in you. At Public Allies they believe that everyone can lead and that leadership is an action you take, not a position you hold. This is the number one reason I joined Public Allies. I always knew I had the power to make a difference in my community and the world, but I wasn’t sure how I could do that and there weren’t many people out there who thought a receptionist at a veterinary hospital really had that much to offer. Public Allies knows that everyone has the potential and assets to make a difference.
  2. Leadership coaching and professional development trainings. Experts from the nonprofit sector and the community will be there every week to teach and answer your questions to help you develop the skills you already have and make you the next great leader you always knew you had the potential to be! It’s wonderful to have the opportunity to come together each week and learn as a community.
  3. Support. From your program managers, to your teammates on your team service projects, to your partner supervisors, and even the directors, you will be supported. They’ll be there to give feedback, they’ll be there when you’ve had an awesome day or the worst day, they’ll be there volunteering at your events, and cheering you on every step of the way! At Public Allies you really are family.
  4. True and intentional diversity. At Public Allies diversity is not just an ideal. Public Allies purposefully recruits diverse young leaders and works to promote and support leaders from all different walks of life. Diversity can mean so many things from racial, ethnic, class, background, perspective, experience, sexual identity, sexual orientation, gender, to educational and Public Allies intentionally works to include them all. On average, Allies are 67% people of color, 60% women, 50% college graduates (including some with graduate degrees), and 15% LGBT. Diversity is one of the reasons why I decided to join Public Allies because they don’t just talk about diversity or say we need diverse leaders; Public Allies actively does diversity and develops diverse leaders.To quote Susan Edwards from Everyone Leads by Public Allies’ CEO Paul Schmitz: Diversity is an action, not an ideal.
  5. More than 3,000 alumni (and counting!) across the nation working in almost every sector are waiting for you to complete the program and use them as resources to keep developing as a leader and a professional. The end of my second year is fast approaching and the closer it gets the more important our strong alumni network becomes. Check out the Public Allies Alumni page on LinkedIn to get an idea of what alumni are doing now!

These 5 reasons are just the beginning of the many, many reasons why Public Allies is an amazing program to take part in. I hope you’ll join us at the site closest to you and discover all the benefits Public Allies has to offer for yourself.

Calling all Allies & Alumni: What is the number one reason you joined Public Allies? Let us know in the comments!

5 Responses to “Why you should join Public Allies”

  1. Jamia June 12, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    I joined Public Allies for growth. I wanted the opportunity to learn more about myself and see if I had what it took to work in the non-profit sector. My Public Allies experience had it’s share of pitfalls, but in retrospect I appreciate the lessons it taught me. It showed me not only that I am capable of handling anything life throws my way but that the way I handle them could use a little tweaking! *smile* Public Allies is a wonderful catalyst for personal and professional growth and I am proud to say that it helped me realize things about life that may have alluded me otherwise. And the fact that I gained some amazing friends and mentees because of the experience makes my memories of PA all the more fond!

    • Dara June 26, 2012 at 9:22 am #

      Thanks for sharing your personal story of growth Jamia!

  2. pemadb June 15, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    I joined Public Allies for your second point. I wanted to transition out of the private sector and felt that I needed support to do it – which I definitely got and continue to get in Public Allies. Among other things, I really think that network was available for me to understand the common language of NYC non-profits.

    • Dara June 26, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      Thanks for sharing! The connections I’ve made through Public Allies have opened the door to opportunities I couldn’t even imagine 2 years ago. I’m glad you’ve found it helpful in that way too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. AmeriCorps Public Allies Catching up with Interview | Wholeness 4 Love - June 20, 2012

    […] Why you should join Public Allies (allysnapshots.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

