Part II: Camp Lake Placid, we hold you in our hearts…

1 Mar

“…And the vision that was planted in my brain still remains within the sound of Silence.”
“Sound of Silence” by Simon and Garfunkel

For the first half of retreat, please visit “Part 1: Camp Lake Placid, we hold you in our hearts…”

Thursday Continued

Workshop III: Crocheting

Crocheting has been a hobby of mine since high school. The first item I ever crocheted was a blanket for my high school friend, Lizz, which despite how imperfect it was (bless her heart) she loved. For ten years I only knew one stitch–the double stitch–which I perfected. This particular session introduced me to the single and half double stitch and allowed me to find a new stitch which I have labelled the half single. Here are a few photos of items I have crocheted in the past:

kitty blanket 1  kitty blanket 3

scarf

Workshop IV: Yoga

Yoga has been a newfound interest of mine which I picked up at the tail end of last year. I chose to go to this session to join with others who also enjoyed yoga. The room was packed with about 30+ people. We learned about the different areas which yoga focuses on and practiced improving our stances with the help of a partner. It was a great experience which reminded me of the importance of quiet and stillness in life as well as the post I wrote back in January called “Balance, the Glue of Life. (Part 1).”

Friday and Other Highlights

The final day of retreat was short. We ate breakfast, took photos, and then headed back to Chicago. The bus ride home was pretty fun though. There were two separate games of “Mafia” happening which got pretty intense.

Group Z Photos!:

Group Z 2      Group Z

Mid-year retreat overall was a great experience. I enjoyed meeting allies from other cities and learning about their experiences. It helped bring into perspective the uniqueness of each site. One thing I regret is that there was not more time to spend with the allies from other cities but those I got to speak with were wonderful. I look forward to meeting more allies and alumni in the future.

Food for Thought: What is a camp or retreat experience you will never forget?

2 Responses to “Part II: Camp Lake Placid, we hold you in our hearts…”

  1. Robin Jackson March 5, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    Hey! You guys played Mafia on the bus??? I was trying to get it going DURING the retreat but no one would bite :/ I had a lot of fun with you guys!

    PA Indy

  2. Kaleena March 5, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    Hi Robin,

    There were probably about 15-20 people playing Mafia on the way home. I am a terrible Mafia player so I was the narrator for one of the two mafia groups. Some PA Chicago members had been playing Mafia at the bonfire Thursday night and so they wanted to keep going.

    I can safely say that PA Chicago had a lot of fun with PA Indy and PA Cinci. It was a wonderful experience that I would love to see happen again in the future!

    ~Kaleena

Leave a Reply

