Gallery

Awkward family photos circa 1996

5 Jan

While home for the holidays I stumbled upon these family photo gems. These pictures are from the Immigrant Rights March I referenced in my first Blog: “I always knew I’d end up here.”

I don’t know what that banner behind me says but I bet it has something to do with equality. As a kid, I don’t think I appreciated this experience as much as I could have.

“No Human is illegal.” This was in 1996 but this banner could still be used today. Progress?

My first introduction to League of United Latin American Citizens (L.U.L.A.C.)

My roots — A proud Mexican American. Looking at the picture more closely, I wonder what the 13-star American flag is referencing…

Me going further into the crowd.

Looks like the perfect opportunity to pose for a photo-op with a Zapatista.

Speaking of embarrassing family photos….

Here’s to a new year full of new experiences!

Photo Credits: My Dad

2 Responses to “Awkward family photos circa 1996”

  1. Lucianne Crowley January 9, 2012 at 7:35 am #

    What a cute baby! We are lucky that she grew up in an activist family and is now serving as a Public Ally with Working in Neighborhoods!

  2. imdelgado January 23, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    I dig the early orientation to social justice. Kudos to your parents! (And you!)

Leave a Reply

