“To fly, we have to have resistance” — Maya Lin

12 Dec

I have to figure it out and decide? Yikes!

I have recently figured out that life does not work like a syllabus. All throughout my studies, I was given a schedule, an assignment, a detailed list of what I had to do and when to do it by. I was usually guided to think in a way where the right and wrong answers can be found directly on a piece of paper…

Belief: After college, I expected a stable job right away…
Actual: I did not receive a stable job offer for a position that interested me right away.  I traveled and interviewed for positions in five different states for a year before Public Allies.

Belief: After college, I thought not only would I find a job, but a job that gave me their little own “to do” list – highlighting what I had to do and when to do it by… that my employer had all the right answers, I just had to help them get there.
Actual: Employers do not have all the right answers; with your experience, some resources and support, you must find them.

In Public Allies, I continue to try and redirect my learning style and old habits.  It is up to me to meet my objectives.  I must create my own syllabus, my assignment, my deadlines… my list of what to do and when to do it by…(where do I begin?)

Allies are put in situations where we will make mistakes…but most importantly we must learn that that is okay. Allies have those in the program to support you, not to guide you. They give you access to resources while giving you the confidence to figure out your professional and personal goals.

Why? After Public Allies, no one will give you a “to do” list. No one will tell you how to, or when to, reach your ultimate dream or goal in life…No one will tell you if you are on the wrong or right path. Its up to you.

On a side note…

The Education Partnership’s Holiday in School Distribution
Volunteer Highlight:

Volunteer Charlotte and Erin
Meet Charlotte Fong. Charlotte Fong is a recent retired teacher who taught middle school English for Pittsburgh Public Schools for 35 years. She is one of 150 educators selected to contribute to  Erin Gruwell’s new book “Teaching Hope.” You may know Erin Gruwell from her breakthrough work with underprivileged California students known as the “Freedom Writers.” Read more here.

Even though Mrs. Fong is retired, she stays active. She volunteers with a few organizations during the week, helping others whenever she gets a chance. She participated in our Holiday In-School Distribution with us, handing out school kits and gifts to thousands of students. Charlotte’s presence was surely known, and not one person lacked a big smile on their face when seeing her. She is a true inspiration, and I look forward to working with her.

Besides organizing the volunteer efforts, It was a pleasure to be Princess Presto!

Erin as Princess Presto

2 Responses to ““To fly, we have to have resistance” — Maya Lin”

  1. imdelgado December 12, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    Fantastic costume!

  2. Liz Backstrom December 14, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    I love this quote, Erin! I also had the same beliefs after college. Looking back on it, I’m so glad I’ve had the path that I do. Otherwise I might be bored out of my mind in a cubicle somewhere 🙂

Leave a Reply

