Public Allies — the whats, whys and wheres according to Lindsay

22 Nov

I'm fourth from left, with some fellow Allies.

In this first blog, I want to share what brought me to Public Allies, why I choose to serve a second year and where I would like my career path to go next.

Before I began my first year of service with Public Allies, I worked in the hospitality industry for three and a half years. I did enjoy my work as an event manager greatly but each interaction always felt like a transaction. Because of my need for more quality connection with others, my work became somewhat empty. After much contemplation and reflection I realized I needed to realign and reconnect my personal and professional lives with my core values. I saw Public Allies as the catalyst to find what I was lacking.

The very first class of Public Allies Central Florida!

Fast forward to October 2010. I along with 25 fellow allies were inaugurated as the first class of Public Allies in Central Florida. Wow! What a rush – On that day I had no idea what was in store for our class, but I did know I was excited to see it unfold. I was matched with an organization that did great work, but it was not 100% what I saw myself doing for the rest of my life. Although this experience last year was not “perfect” I learned more about myself, leadership, and my work style than I could have in any other environment. I will forever look back on that year as the turning point in my life.

So, why am I back for more? Because Public Allies offers a unique experience that is more than what can be captured in a blog (although I’ll try). I met amazing people, had incredible experiences and turned my discomfort zone into my comfort zone, and I hope to have all that and more happen this year. Most importantly, last year I discovered what I am most passionate about: education. The position I hold now is the position I had my eye on all last year. I wanted my second year of service to provide the opportunity to fully submerge myself in the education system and learn everything I could from the “inside.”

Where do I hope to go with these new and freshly polished skills and experiences? I want to impact education – specifically by connecting communities with their local schools; Do I know how? Not yet – but I get a small glimpse of what can be created, in communities and schools, each time I match a student with a mentor.

4 Responses to “Public Allies — the whats, whys and wheres according to Lindsay”

  1. Kaleena November 22, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Lindsey,

    It is awesome that you got to be part of the first class at one of the Ally sites. I can already see some similarities between us. I also worked in the hospitality arena. It wasn’t as fulfilling as I wanted it to be which is why I pursued psychology. I would love to swap stories with you sometime about our experiences working in an education setting. I also look forward to your insights from both your first year as an ally as well as your second year serving.

    • lindsaymays13 December 4, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

      Hi Kaleena – Thanks for the comment & I would absolutely LOVE to swap stories with you! I look forward to learning more about you as well!

  2. imdelgado December 1, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Lindsey/ Fellow ENFJ,

    Congrats on getting your ideal placement and discovering more of your passion in education. I’m actually on the opposite end of the spectrum and long ago, decided I didn’t want to work in schools. (A little too heart- breaking, to be honest.) My experience in Public Allies and exposure to placements of fellow Allies, however, is opening up my horizons. I’ve decided I need to figure out exactly why I can’t or don’t want to work in schools. I’ll be shadowing a school social worker in the near future and I’m sure it will come up in my blog. Even as I approach this journey from the opposite end, I look forward to hearing more about and learning from your experiences!

    • lindsaymays13 December 4, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

      Hey Isabelle –
      It’s good to have another ENFJ around here! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      To be honest, it’s hard to know if you want to be in a school or not, until you’re in one. I always thought I would love it and want to be a teacher but this experience is really showing me where my strengths are and what my preferences are. I don’t know exactly where I’ll end up but it’s definitively different than any expectations I had, some good, some not-so-good.

      I look forward to learning more about you and hearing your experiences!

Leave a Reply

