“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.” – Gandhi

23 Jan

Each Sunday night I get this knot in my stomach that is similar to what I may feel as I am about to get on a rollercoaster. I’m nervous. A little worried. Don’t know exactly what will happen. Sometimes ready to scream… yet I know it’s going to be exciting and worthwhile. I’ll be ready to get back in line to do it all over again.

My week: Mondays through Thursdays, on average 40 hours are spent at my placement organization. For another 10 hours depending, I am either in Public Allies training or working on a ten month, team service project. Most Saturdays, you can find me back at The Education Partnership working with those who make at all happen: volunteers.

Usually after Monday comes and goes… I begin to calm down and I become comfortable with my “Weekly Action Items” and my overall responsibilities for the week. This week is a little different. This week I am riding that rollercoaster everyday, and NEXT week is our second School Supplies Distribution.

What does this mean? As a Volunteer Coordinator, It means I am busy securing those wonderful community members who are willing to dedicate their time to make sure about  5,200 students and 520 teachers in need receive free school and classroom supplies.

Needed: 22 volunteer shifts filled, roughly 5 – 8 volunteers a day, 60 volunteers overall. Luckily, Martin Luther King day is coming up and I am organizing 45 volunteers for a day of service…pictures to come soon!

And it’s also days like today, where a small group of volunteers come with energy you can feel as they enter the room.  Today I was grateful to work with volunteers with special needs… a wonderful class from a local high school. One of the 16 year old students gave me a high five at the end of the day yelling loudly “I feel so honored. It’s incredible!”

I love leaving work with chills.

One Response to ““The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.” – Gandhi”

  1. pemadb February 6, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    Erin, what an inspiring video. Everyone in it seems super pumped either being on the giving or receiving end of your P.O.!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

